Question for old-timers... What was the affect of the AWB on NFA items?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rvb

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 14, 2009
    IN (a refugee from MD)
    holy ****, remembering the awb makes me an old timer?! granted I just got into firearms in the last 3-4 yrs of the ban, about the time I graduated college...

No affect on MGs.
    New rifles/SBRs had to meet "post-ban" requirements for features (e.g. no adj stocks if it had a pistol grip + removable mag), or else be built on "preban" lowers.
    mags were more expensive, especially if you tried to hunt down new ones (made before the ban but not yet sold/used).

Not totally sure about silencers, may have somewhat impacted silencer sales because IIRC you couldn't put a silencer on an "AW" if it already had another bad feature, eg pistol grip. as if may have been considered a flash hider... not totally sure about that one. definitely couldn't have the barrel threaded.

-rvb

Last edited:

Ericpwp

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    18   0   0
    Jan 14, 2011
    NWI
    Thanks, no offense :laugh:. I was not a gun owner during the ban, and did not have any "AWs" until years after. I do not NFA, but with 41f doing away with the CLEO sign-off, I may jump in.

I was wondering what the implications of a rehashed AWB would be if I did. I figured there would be some "more experienced" folks here that have lived it.

rvb

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 14, 2009
    IN (a refugee from MD)