• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Nov 6, 2009
    Jasper county
    My father in law asked me last weekend about setting up a trust for suppressors. Neither of us own any class 3 stuff but have been thinking about suppressors for a while. We are wanting to make sure setting up a single trust would be the best option. So hear are the details: I am an Indiana Resident with no plans of moving. He lives in southern Michigan. He hopes to move back to Indiana within 5 years. We are both proper persons not prohibited from possessing anything. Would like to know if one trust is set up are we both able to purchase suppressors individually? I would probably purchase 1 he plans to buy a few. Just not sure if only one person on the trust is allowed to purchase and the others can just possess items. Also how would that work adding our wives onto the trust? Any help appreciated, thanks.

Also any recommendations for a knowledgeable suppressor dealer in northern Indiana?

ol' poke

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Jan 14, 2010
    Welcome aboard!

IANAL, but as I understand it....

You'll set up one trust, with you and your dad as the grantors/trustees. Neither of you will buy the suppressors - the trust does. You would both be trustees, which allow either of you to possess the trust's "assets". The "assets" should remain in Indiana, and the ATF would need to be notified if they go out of state. If your father is moving to Indiana, I would set the trust up here. The new trust laws require all trustees to submit pictures and fingerprints. Grant Liston in Ft. Wayne is another trust atty to consider.

Bfish

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Feb 24, 2013
    TT got it already. Call Marc, he will help you out with all of your questions, and set your trust up for you!

Jshepherd37

Plinker