• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Johnny C

Master
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    May 18, 2009
    Solsberry , In
    Fill out form 1 with ATF to build a suppressor.
    Once stamp comes in, buy and engrave the tube
    Take baffles from another suppressor that is already legally owned and install in form 1 suppressor.
    Send suppressor 2 back to factory to have "repaired" ... new baffles installed.

legal or no?

T.Lex

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Mar 30, 2011
    This is going to sound like a strange answer, but asking the ATF about this makes some sense.

M67

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Jan 15, 2011
    Southernish Indiana
    I have no experience with suppressors, but wouldn't the "damaged" baffles need to go back as well?

To my understanding, yes the original damaged baffles would have to go back for replacement, or the whole original can would

You make a new silencer, your responsible to make the baffles for it

Slow Hand

Master
    Rating - 99.3%
    146   1   0
    Aug 27, 2008
    West Side
    It’s illegal to possess extra baffles. No suppressor Company is going to supply new baffles without getting the old ones back. If you do a ‘solvent trap’ there is a couple of companies who specialize in recording them to be more efficient. If you want to play that game, do what you are saying, punch a hole in a few freeze plugs to make a crap-tastic baffle stack and send it to one of these SOT’s to have it recored.

2A_Tom

Crotchety old member!
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Sep 27, 2010
    NWI
    Adam Kraut at the gun collective did a video about this but I cannot find it.

rimfireOH

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 14, 2017
    Easterly