• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Mike Elzinga

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Mar 22, 2008
    NWI
    I am brand new to suppressors but I recently purchased 2 Hybrids to use on various centerfire rifles and am still awaiting the stamps to come back. I didn’t intend to use these on any rimfire rifles at the time I bought them, but have since been considering it. In doing a bit of research I have seen several people say that you aren’t “supposed” to use these cans on a rimfire but no one really says why not.

Is there some reason that its a bad idea? I’m aware that rimfire ammo is typically very dirty but if I keep it under a few hundred rounds per session and then clean it afterwards, is there any damage it will do?

Side question, since a Hybrid is a big fat can, will it take 20+ rounds of rimfire ammo to charge the can with gas and thus giving me an ever shifting point of impact?

Thanks for any insight you guys may have.

Lilboog82

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Oct 26, 2014
    Indiana
    Don’t use them on rimfire because those hybrids are not user serviceable, meaning you can not take apart the suppressor and clean it. .22lr is very dirty and lead buildup on baffles occurs. I would recommend a dedicated rimfire suppressor that can be taken apart to clean.

1nderbeard

Master
    Local Business Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    40   0   0
    Apr 3, 2017
    Hendricks County
    I would agree with boog.
    I have a hyrbrid also, but wouldn't ever use it on rimfire.
    Don't waste the $800 bucks with 22lr. You can buy a decent dedicated 22lr for like $200. I have a gemtech 22 that I picked up for around $250; it is easily serviceable.

Mike Elzinga

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Mar 22, 2008
    NWI