• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Mike Elzinga

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Mar 22, 2008
    NWI
    I have very little experience with NFA items, so Im hoping someone here has advice....

I have a friend in a European country that has a wonderful rifle that he wishes to sell and I wish to buy. How can I go about legally importing this rifle? Is a Form 6 the only way to do this? what should I expect to pay and how long should I expect this to take? Any other advice ?

praff

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Sep 26, 2009
    I would call ATF and get some guidance. Or maybe even better, do some correspondence via email so you have answers in writing. I'm sure how much and if you even can is going to be determined by the rifle type and where it was manufactured and where it is coming from.

What type of rifle??

Bfish

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Feb 24, 2013
    Doesn't look like anyone has come a long with any answers, but I'm in to follow even if it's just updates.

STFU

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    17   0   0
    Sep 30, 2015
    Hamilton County
    I have done a Form 6 to bring a weapon back from Germany.
    It was easy and when I called the ATF, the woman walked me through the form, field by field to ensure it was correct.
    I was using ATF E-Form Part 6 (5330.3A). Mailed it and had an approved response in under 2 weeks. I received the hard-copy about a week after that.

Keep in mind, I was on a USAF contract and covered by the US SOFA.
    Since I was a "US Government Civilian" repatriating back to CONUS, I did not need to get an importer involved. I am fairly certain that if you are visiting as a tourist, the process is much more involved and you must get an importer involved.
    Shoot me a PM and I will get you a redacted copy of the approved pdf if you want it.