• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • teddy12b

Grandmaster
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    40   0   0
    Nov 25, 2008
    So when it comes to cans and running them, I'm an absolute noob with lots to learn. To start with, My Gen 4 G17 with factory everything other than night sights has always ran everything and been a fine testament to Glock's reputation for reliability.

I wanted to run my Gentech blackslide 45 on the G17 and I had to get the piston for the 9mm thread. I had a Holoson 507C laying around, and I got a steel on a silencerco threaded barrel. I put it all on a brownells cut slide and I like the setup. I didn't have enough faith it'd all work flawlessly so I haven't bothered putting iron sights on the slide yet. Basically, I'm keeping my factory upper as is and I'm playing with a red dot slide for suppressed so I can fine tune the sight. The only part I've been using with both slides/uppers has been the recoil spring.

So every time I've taken it out, the G17 suppressed upper fires a round, but doesn't cycle enough to pick up the next round out of the magazine. Every time I fire I have to manually cycle the action which pulls out an empty, and feeds in a new round. At first I though it was just the low powered CCI aluminum cased 115fmj rounds I was firing. Then I swapped out to 147gr Fed HST's and got the exact same results.

I think I need a different recoil spring with a lower weight, but honestly troubleshooting problems like this are way outside my wheelhouse. That's why I'm here asking guys who've ran across this before. Thanks in advance for any friendly advise.

KokomoDave

Enigma Suspect
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    75   0   0
    Oct 20, 2008
    Kokomo
    Do you have an actuator aka booster spring installed?

Sometimes a lower weight spring must be installed. I only use 147gr. JHP Magtechs to cycle my slides confidently. Some rounds don't have enough oomph to open the slide.

swamptick