• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Suprtek

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 27, 2009
    Wanamaker
    The purpose of this thread is to discuss anything and everything relating to tomahawks.

I am completely new to them and wish to learn more. I'm in the process of getting a couple cold steel spike hawks via group buy. (Thanks to OneBadV8 and Kinnards80 for setting it up!)

My first question is about sharpening the bottom side of the blade as seen in the second hawk from the left in this picture of some nice hawks owned by Fireaxes.

tomahawk005.jpg

Other than the fact that it just looks cool, I can see how it would make it more effective hooking and pulling a limb or neck in a combat situation. Is there any downside to doing this? Could it have any affect on how well a hawk throws?

I have lots of other questions, but I'll start with this for now.

Suprtek

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 27, 2009
    Wanamaker
    I might know some one with the equipment to sharpen things;) but really a grinder or belt sander will get the job done.

I plan on making sure my hawks get a thorough beating. So I can't see taking extraordinary efforts beyond what I could do myself to put an edge on them.

But as I said, I'm new to this so if I'm wrong, somebody tell my why.

Fireaxes

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Apr 23, 2010
    Wabash County
    The one you mentioned is a Cold Steel Vietnam hawk.

Some models are easier to sharpen in this area than others. Won't make a bit of difference when it comes to throwing them. On that note, I don't recommend throwing the Vietnam style hawks (the middle 2). They are not really designed for it. The last one is a SOG and is reinforced, would hold up a little better on softer targets.