• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • mammynun

Master
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Oct 30, 2009
    New Albany
    ... so I'm performing my "Goo Diligence" (google searches).

What I'm looking for is a quality, fixed blade (3"-5") that can be securely mounted via molle/pals. Non-serrated for my sharpening pleasure. Actually, not being an educated knife guy, the sheath is the most important part of the system to me at this point. :n00b: I used to jump out of perfectly good airplanes and I border on paranoid when it comes to retention.

I sharpened Gerber's and K-Bar's in the military, but I'm by no means an expert... and it appears that the steel has changed a lot since the late 80's-early 90's. I'm looking for a balance between taking an edge and holding an edge.

I don't have issues with rust on my firearms and I plan to treat my first "real" knife with the same attention. Corrosion resistance is a low priority, but I don't want it to pit in 24hrs if it gets damp.

I'm not educated (cool?) enough to care about brand names or special edition/limited runs. This will be a "working" knife that will live on my A. SHTF/training battle belt or B. backpack waistband.

So.

ESEE 3/4/5
    or
    Ontario TAK-1 or RAT3/5
    or
    ??? (especially)

BTW, I'm vaguely aware that Ontario did "a bad thing" at some point, but I'm interested in knives, not history. If Ontario (or any company) sent knives or money to AQ/Hezbollah, I'll gladly strike them from consideration, but I'm more concerned with a quality product and customer service. Then again, I don't know what they did...

Knife Lady

PROUD TO BE AN ARMY BRAT
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Mar 1, 2010
    Central USA
    As much as I would love to sell you an ESEE and I would indeed :D