• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Fergy35

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Jul 9, 2008
    NE Corner of our gre
    I am still a complete rookie and nowhere up to the standards of the fine makers I keep seeing on here, but I keep trying to learn and improve bit by bit. Of course with everything going on with an older house that needs some work, kids that have stuff going on and this god awful heat lately I haven't had much time in the shop. Anyway, here are a few I've been working on.

This is #4. It is made from some scrap 1/8" thick O1 from a local machine shop. I squeezed what I could out of the piece I had. I am not a real fan of the design, it looked good on paper, but not sure about it now. Scales are natural canvas micarta.
    84b0b28d.jpg

1f966849.jpg

d28e36ac.jpg

This is #5. I had looked at a picture of a TDI, but have not handled one yet. I figured what the heck, that looks like it would fit on that next piece of scrap. So I sketched my version of it on the steel and this is what I got. Again it is O1. This time it is 3/16" thick. The scales are a home brew denim laminate.
    35bd6e79.jpg

e2e1f0a8.jpg

This is #7 (haven't got pictures of #6 yet). It is still in process and is currently waiting for heat treat. This one is 1/8" O1 that Cubby was kind enough to give me when I visited him. Not 100% certain what I will be doing for scales yet. I have some home brew black and tan linen laminate that may end up on this one.
    db97b865.jpg

4ce166f2.jpg

Anyway, thanks for looking.

iamaclone45

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 2, 2009
    Indiana
    The first blade has an interesting shape. What would it's main role be?

Your TDI clone looks excellent, almost like a luxury TDI. I also like the denim blue color.

Your work appears to be top quality. I'd be interested in seeing what that last knife looks like with black and tan grips.

tradertator

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%