• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Tomahawkman

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    53   0   0
    Aug 7, 2014
    Hamilton County
    Before I start you should know I am not an expert on this topic I just simply do a lot of research before spending my money (in most situations).

I was in search of a Karambit for left side carry and a weapon retention blade. The following Karambits are the ones I have bought and carried and what I think about each and how they compare to each other, whatever that is worth to you.

Ill apologize in advance for the pictures, I was taking them with an Iphone and it wouldn't focus on some of the pictures, so I did the best I could.

Here we go,

The Spyderco Karahawk

I’m fond of the Spyderco brand and own several, so after seeing they offered a Karambit I decided I’d start there. I went ahead and placed my order; after it arrived I was pleased with what I had. The Karahawk is very thin but sturdy and well built. It’s very sharp as are most Spyderco knives. It’s a lock back design which I really like, and the overall action of the blade is very smooth. The G10 grips are nice but not too aggressive.
    While it is nice that the knife is so thin allowing it sits in the pocket in a way that you forget it is there, it is also one of my complaints about the knife. Holding the knife in the reverse grip has a few hot spots on the edges of the handle. Next we come to the ring, very important in the Karambit Design and the Karahawks biggest draw back and let down. The ring is just as thin as the handle and twice as sharp, Spyderco has attempted to fix the issue by adding a spacer in between the ring that was not present to the original version but it is clearly an afterthought (because it was) and I hope they fix this with any future versions of this knife.