• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rhino

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Mar 18, 2008
    Indiana
    I've been collecting (accumulating) knives for almost 40 years and not only has my interest not waned, it may be stronger than ever. I love knives and I appreciate them as fine tools, but why do I like them so much? I've had many interests in life, but none have endured the way my affinity for knives has. So what's different?

1DOWN4UP

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Mar 25, 2015
    North of 30
    Mine takes me back to my childhood.At 5,I told my pa I wanted a knife.He said OK.He pulled a Case XX out of his pocket, put the pointed blade between the wooden steps,broke half of it off and said here ya go boy........that was all it took.Then years later,I would visit my uncle in the South.On Sundays,the old timers would meet at the courthouse square,talk knives,show knives,and trade knives.I would always take a pocket of boot,and come home with a better one than I started.The old guys pulled me in.Then I saw a Fightin' Rooster........

Last edited:

hopper68

Master
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Nov 15, 2011
    Pike County
    You obviously have an addiction and need an intervention. To help you quit cold turkey please PM your address and I will come and haul off all your knives for free. Kitchen knives too, hope you like prepackaged soups and salads. :laugh:

Woobie

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 19, 2014
    Losantville
    An ancient, Tacitus I think, said "the blade itself incites to violence." I don't know about that, but there is something psychological about holding one. Maybe it's a connection with the earliest of our ancestors. Maybe it is the strange way that the simplest of tools is suited for myriad tasks. Maybe it is knowing that the blade is capable of doing more than you know, and you just need to learn that next skill.