• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • bmbutch

Master
    Rating - 100%
    26   0   0
    Aug 20, 2010
    Southern Indiana
    Would like nicer folder for EDC. Use would be primarily defense, have some fixed Esee for utility, I’ve narrowed it down (for now anyway) to:

Pro-Tech TR-4.3

Spartan Blade Pallus

Zero Tolerance Hinderer 0393SW

Any suggestions, I’m a knife novice, & don’t really wanna waste $200ish bucks on a turd.

Double T

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   1
    Aug 5, 2011
    Huntington
    If it's solely for defense, it's pretty hard to beat a TDI on a belt. And it's way cheaper than 200 bucks. For a serious defensive knife, it's hard to beat a fixed blade.

Tactically Fat

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    22   0   0
    Oct 8, 2014
    Indiana
    If the primary use will be for defense, then you should seriously think about a knife that has a "wave" feature on it. Or at least has a "spyder hole" on the blade so that a zip tie can be added to assist with the opening.

A ZT 0630 would fit that bill.

Wave'd and/or zip-tied knives are faster to open than even assisted or automatic. And fast opening is key in this instance.

If it'll be a defensive-use only knife, then you're going to want a fixed blade. Fix blades are fastest on the scene, so to speak. Stronger, too. Meaning they aren't gonna fold up on you at the exact moment your whole world is crashing in around you.

Hop

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Jan 21, 2008
    Indy
    That Pro-Tech is sexy. I'll agree with TF about the wave on a defensive folder though. Can't beat that wave for deployment speed. If looking for something similar to what you listed above, take a look at the Emerson CQC-10.

seedubs1

Master
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Jan 17, 2013