• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • the1kidd03

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jul 19, 2011
    somewhere
    Ok, as I am a recently returned veteran and gone back to school, again....I find this rather frustrating. I know times are tough for everyone but veterans have more than earned what little perks they are supposed to receive for their dedicated service to this country and now they are starting to take those perks away.

For those who aren't familiar, the G.I. bill provides a housing allowance for veterans while they are attending school for their degree. Recently they decided that while these veterans are on break (i.e. Spring break, Christmas break, etc) they do not deserve a housing allowance!?!?!? basically, they are only getting payed the housing allowance for full weeks that they attend classes.....I'm assuming this comes from Obama's new budget plan, but I'm not sure......anyhow, how is a full time student supposed to get a job to pay his bills for a mere week or two at a time??? Not exactly possible by most employers right....well, anyway I just thought I'd share this with you fellow INGOers since the media is seeming to ignore it....and provide links to some information on a bill they are trying to pass which re-enstates break pay for veterans attending school.....PLEASE feel free to contact you local representatives and congressional leaders to share your opinions....as well as share this information around as much as you can since the media isn't.......thank you

Bill Text - 112th Congress (2011-2012) - THOMAS (Library of Congress):#

H.R. 1451: Post 9/11 GI Bill Payment Restoration Act (GovTrack.us)

H.R.1451: Post 9/11 GI Bill Payment Restoration Act - U.S. Congress - OpenCongress

Booya

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    44   0   0
    Aug 26, 2010
    Fort Fun