• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Gadgetmonster

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Feb 2, 2013
    Southport area
    I have been experimenting on cleaning and lubricating my old guns since buying my first bottle of Super QGC at Bradis gun shop a couple weeks ago. Most all of you folks have been cleaning guns way before me so please correct me if you take exception to anything I say. Can’t hurt this Noob’s feelings, I’m still learning. Here is what I do… I wear purple Nitrile Exam Gloves as I work and lay everything out on a clean micro fiber cloth. Double check to be positive the firearm is not loaded. I only have Smith and Wesson revolvers so some of this may not apply. Clean inside the barrel and cylinder with a brass rod and bronze brush if it needs it using Hoppe’s #9 bore cleaner - then give them a nice swipe with a saturated patch. Next, Super QGC says it contains mineral spirits. So I have been using mineral spirits on the first thorough cleaning of my new-old guns. A gallon is $8 at Wal-Mart and may be enough for a lifetime of gun cleanings. (I must say here to us Noobs, do not open the side cover on your gun unless you really believe you have the ability to understand what you are looking at. Inside you will find one of the most beautiful mechanisms you will ever see… and one of the most complicated. So read up before you attempt it and for heavens sake do not ever stick a screwdriver inside the hollow area of the gun and pry up on the side cover) Using a pump oil can, gently squirt clean mineral spirits inside the disassembled gun. Flushing and light brushing removes old oil, dirt and microscopic shavings. I let that flow into a closable used oil container from Harbor Freight. It is tabletop size so flush away. It gets collected in the container instead of on a rag or tabletop.
    http://www.harborfreight.com/waste-oil-storage-container-97608.html