• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • wcd

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 2, 2011
    Off the Grid In Tennessee
    So I see claims like dual recoil springs or Heavy duty recoil springs. With regards to felt recoil in a 45 ACP Aluminium Frame 1911 does it really affect perceived recoil? Or is it more of a marketing tool. Particularly of interest is the Wiley Clap Commander Aluminium 1911. I picked up one at a LGS and it felt awesome. But I wonder if it would be fun at the Range?

oldpink

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 7, 2009
    Farmland
    I'm no expert on these matters, but there is nothing that can reverse basic physics regarding recoil, except to work with physics by making the gun heavier, firing a less powerful round, or by using a compensator of some sort.
    Any other measures (grips, buffers, springs, etc.) will only affect perceived recoil, meaning they either distribute the impact with your hand over a wider area, act as cushions, or spread out the duration of the recoil impulse somewhat to make it less of an impact and more of a shove.
    A stouter recoil spring is mainly used to help soften the slide slamming into the receiver with stronger loads, and the effect with affecting perceived recoil is secondary, if any.

Last edited:

churchmouse

I still care....Really
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    187   0   0
    Dec 7, 2011
    Speedway area
    The recoil spring is one point of tune in a 1911. To over spring it to take away recoil will effect function.
    The light frame will let you feel a bit more re-coil.

Last edited:

sporter

Master
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Mar 9, 2009
    Southern, Indiana
    A lighter recoil spring can make the gun run a little flatter. However the felt recoil can increase. An increase in reco
    il spring weight can actually increase mechanical recoil while reducing the slide impact/battering against the frame.

HoughMade

Grandmaster