• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Sullivan_pbr

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    Aug 17, 2011
    Romney
    I’m not a lawyer. But I don’t believe a restraining order has any impact on your license to carry. You just cannot approach that person armed or not.

croy

Master
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Apr 22, 2012
    Indiana
    Having a restraining can effect whether or not you can carry, and also can lose all gun rights until the restraining order is lifted..

CraigAPS

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Jun 26, 2016
    Muncie
    IANAL, but I think it depends on the specifics of the order. Are you talking about a normal Order of Protection (I believe the term Indiana uses) or something like the Red Flag laws (referred to as "Jake Laird's Law" in Indiana)?

Here's some basic info on Orders of Protection: https://www.indianalegalservices.org/node/17/general-information-about-orders-protection

For Indiana's Red Flag Law, just Google "Laird's Law Indiana," and you should get the info you need. Laird's Law specifically deals with firearms. That one would definitely stop you from carrying as it removes firearms from one's possession and suspends one's LTCH.

T.Lex

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Mar 30, 2011
    Generally, someone in the position of having a restraining order taken out against them needs an attorney ASAP. There are certain findings that could be sent to the ISP, which might then suspend the LTCH. A lawyer can get direct access and information regarding the restraining order, and the process that led to it, and provide the answer. That is the only way.

This is not legal advice to you or anyone else.

sethr

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 5, 2017
    Putnam County
    A. You have 30 days to ask for a hearing.
    B. The order will have a Brady Bill box saying whether you can possess or not.

If you cohabited, it's an automatic no guns.