• ...and so much more!
  • vincess

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Dec 14, 2017
    Indy
    Admin/MOD's,
    I wasn't sure where to put this, so sorry for slapping it here. Also, I did a search and couldn't come up with any answers to this situation.

I recently went to my usual indoor range, and proceeded to to test out my brand new AR pistol. I've never tried one out before, and did (at least what I thought) was a good amount of research on the laws of using said pistol. Now this is where I failed? Or the the RSO did, that's why I'm asking here.

According to to him, one can not use a mag with more than 10 rounds, (like the 30 round mag I had in). Said it ceases to become a pistol once I've done that.

Thoughts one way or the other?

T.Lex

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Mar 30, 2011
    Please name the range, and if possible, the RSO.

Without providing specific legal advice to you or anyone else that may read this, your description of the conversation suggests that the RSO is incorrect, or a there's a misunderstanding, or a there's a miscommunication.

In Indiana, mag capacity is not relevant to a handgun/rifle designation.

If the RSO was saying that in some jurisdictions it is, and that it is awesome to be in Indiana where that kind of thing doesn't matter, then he/she is correct.

Bigtanker

Cuddles
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Aug 21, 2012
    Osceola
    Yeah. The RSO is wrong. The only thing you can't do is put a regular stock on it, that would make it an SBR, and you'd need to pay the $200 tax for that. Also no vertical for grip. That makes it a AOW ( I think). Again, a tax stamp is needed for that.

Technical, you could put a belt fed upper with a pistol length barrel on it and be perfectly legal with a 500 Rd belt.

I'm interested in what range this was at. Point Blank maybe?

Vigilant

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    21   0   0
    Jul 12, 2008
    Plainfield