• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!

Master
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    26   0   0
    Jul 9, 2011
    Hamilton County
    So I have been working with my 6 year old son for a couple of years on gun safety and handling. I bought him a replica airsoft gun to help learn how handle a firearm safely first. Then I got him out to the range every week and he watched me shoot and I would quiz him on safety. Today I felt like he was ready, so I put my 22lr pistol in his hands and he did very well. Obviously his shooting in terms of accuracy was not there yet but it was actually better then I would have thought. I was just very happy and proud he handled it very safely and in a calm and mature manner. He even cleared his first malfunction! It was a great day for him and an even better one for me. I'll never forget this day!

Phase2

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 9, 2011
    Well done! You've taken the time to start him on safety and it sounds like it has imprinted well and should for the rest of his life. Be sure to take pictures and save a target sheet if you haven't already.

ljk

Master
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    May 21, 2013
    I remember last year on my son's 7th birthday, I took him out of school early, had pizza for lunch and surprised him with a trip to the shooting range.

It was cold and wet, but we had the range all to ourselves.

I had built an SBR 10/22 with suppressor just for him. Everything went well, until the last gun I handed to him. It was a Ruger Mk4. I forgot about the reciprocating bolt.

The first shot he fired, the changing handle nailed him on the nose. He was crying while bleeding from a small cut.

When we got home, he was scared, my wife was pissed. Well I guess his first impression on shooting wasn't that good.

Fast forward, this year, I asked him what he wanted to do for his birthday, he surprised my with two words: "shooting range".