• ...and so much more!
  • TylerStone

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 10, 2019
    Castleton
    Hey there!

I'm really new to to this forum and to firearms in general so please forgive me for not using much jargon here. I'll be happy to get more specific in comments and edit the OP appropriately as I learn and discover what you need to know so we don't end up with lots of comments repeating information.

Basically, I am looking to become a first-time homeowner in the next 12 months which is really exciting in itself. I am having a very difficult time, however, figuring out where I should be looking for property where I can shoot in my backyard. I would ideally like to create a small range for myself, even possibly invest in one of those machines that zips the target down range for you (don't know what it's called). I like shooting my 9mm handgun anywhere from 5-25yd and my .22 long rifle at 100yd.

While I would be willing to invest money in installing berms, backstop, etc, this will be my starter home likely to be upgraded within 5-10 years so nothing too overboard. Just enough to be safe and confident in where the bullets will be stopping.

The meat of my question is: what county, what area, WHERE can I legally, safely, and appropriately do all of this? I really like the Northeast side, I work in McCordsville and would love to stay out this way but for the purpose of the question it wouldn't have to necessarily be so confined.

Whatever it's worth I have done a bit of googling and keep coming back to this site, but from threads from early 2010 and wanted to seek out fresh information.

Huge gratitude in advance for your help.

DoggyDaddy

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    73   0   1
    Aug 18, 2011
    Southside Indy