• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • JamesRich99

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 3, 2020
    n/a
    Hey fellas, quick question. I'm very new to the whole gun world, and I recently bought a pistol off a friend, (FN-9C), and there was no Bill of Sale done when purchased. I have the original receipt, with the owners original information. Is there anything I need to do, or is this ok to be owned by me currently? Im under 21 so I cant buy through a vendor. Thanks for the time.

Phase2

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 9, 2011
    There are only three requirements when doing a person-to-person sale in Indiana.

1- Buyer must be at least 18.
    2- Both must be Indiana residents. If either of you are not an Indiana resident, then the sale has to go through an FFL and they can't sell to an 18-20 year old.
    3- Seller must have no reason to think you are a prohibited person (no felonies, domestic violence, etc).

No paperwork is necessary, though some prefer to have it. That is between you and the seller. There is no "gun registration" in Indiana, so nothing to file with the state.

JamesRich99

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 3, 2020
    n/a
    Ok, I'm 20, we both live in Indiana, and I have no priors. Do I need to do anything to get this gun under my name, or does it just stick to the original owner?

Phase2

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 9, 2011
    You are legal to own it. There is no "under your name". That implies that there is a registry somewhere and there isn't. The purchase is basically the same as buying a bicycle, though there are the restrictions listed above.

Note that you can't carry without an Indiana License to Carry Handgun (LTCH). You can keep it at home (practice safe storage) and take it unloaded to the range or for training.

WebSnyper

Time to make the chimichangas
    Rating - 100%
    58   0   0
    Jul 3, 2010