Things to keep in mind as I work on rifle skills.

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Bobby

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Oct 14, 2008
    Muncie/New Castle
    Hello all,
    I have been shooting handguns for the last 12 years. While I am not an expert, I am happy with how that is coming along. My rifle skills, though, are non-existent. I have a Ruger 10/22 that I play around with but today I set up a 8x8 steel target and plan to work on my rifle skills. I find that I can consistently hit the steel target with my Ruger equipped with iron sights at 50 yards but struggle once I go up to 75. What size steel targets should I have use? Smaller than 8x8 or larger? What distances should I work up to with iron sights? What about red dots? What is a good distance with them? I can't stand scopes and anyway I don't have a use for them at the moment as I work on my skills.

My family has AR15s but I don't care for them for some reason. I had a Crossman BB gun as a kid so the Ruger 10/22 feels like an old friend. I would like to work up to a Ruger Mini 14 and a M1 Garand some day. Those rifles just feel "right" to me compared to the AR15.

I'll do some reading on the Internet but wanted to throw this post out there if anyone wanted to offer input. Thanks all!

Bobby

natdscott

User Unknown
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jul 20, 2015
    You need a class, not Internet advice. There is no substitute.

The software is to the hardware as 3 is to 1.
    The internet IS a giant class, in a way.