Join INGunOwners For Free
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

User Info Menu

Things to keep in mind as I work on rifle skills.

Hello all,
    I have been shooting handguns for the last 12 years. While I am not an expert, I am happy with how that is coming along. My rifle skills, though, are non-existent. I have a Ruger 10/22 that I play around with but today I set up a 8x8 steel target and plan to work on my rifle skills. I find that I can consistently hit the steel target with my Ruger equipped with iron sights at 50 yards but struggle once I go up to 75. What size steel targets should I have use? Smaller than 8x8 or larger? What distances should I work up to with iron sights? What about red dots? What is a good distance with them? I can't stand scopes and anyway I don't have a use for them at the moment as I work on my skills.

My family has AR15s but I don't care for them for some reason. I had a Crossman BB gun as a kid so the Ruger 10/22 feels like an old friend. I would like to work up to a Ruger Mini 14 and a M1 Garand some day. Those rifles just feel "right" to me compared to the AR15.

I'll do some reading on the Internet but wanted to throw this post out there if anyone wanted to offer input. Thanks all!

Bobby

User Info Menu

You need a class, not Internet advice. There is no substitute.

The software is to the hardware as 3 is to 1.
    Kirk Freeman, INGO's Dennis Miller of gun culture references

Expert

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Kirk Freeman View Post

The internet IS a giant class, in a way.

OP: start shooting 50 rounds a day at that steel. Every day. When you cannot miss it at a given range, move back 10 yards, and start again. When you get to 100 yards, and you cannot miss it anymore, then get a 4” plate, and start again at 60 yards.

If you get to where you can hit that plate most all the time at 100 yards, well, ya won’t have to take any **** from anybody on this forum—or any othet one—that’s for sure.
    President's Hundred