• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • wcd

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 2, 2011
    Off the Grid In Tennessee
    So work is crazy right now between all the work around the homestead, tornado repair, and Life. Well over the weekend a long time friend came over for some Barbecue and he and his wife were genuinely worried about the level of crazy that appears to becoming the new normal. He is former Canadian citizen who legally became a US citizen.

He knows what I do for a living and in the past has said that he thought I was a bit over the top for never going anywhere unarmed. He confided that he was concerned for his wife’s and daughters safety. It appears there was an incident at their place and it took sometime for a response, it turned ok and however it planted a serious seed of doubt, and a sense of Urgency. He also said he had gone to some lgs and he was very disappointed with the end result and felt like getting pushed towards what the salesman wanted to sell.

We had a nice supper and I offered to take him out to the Range. Really glad I had just brush hogged back there and recently put in lighting out there as well. At first he was almost paranoid and almost afraid to touch a firearm. I showed him our sign that is out at the range, it has the four rules for safe handling. After a bit I showed him how to grip a pistol, Basic sight alignment, and

I went over how to check to be sure a pistol is clear, how to insert a magazine, the proper sequence for unloading a semi auto. Then we moved on to him handling a cleared 92G he dry fired it a few times, then we basically did the same for my SR9c, Sig 365, and my 1911.

Well Sunday he and his wife came over and we went out to the Range and we reviewed safe handling again to the point where he was comfortable and ready to try some live fire. I let him try a few and he decided that for him the 9 mm seemed to be the best fit.