• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • diver dan

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Jan 21, 2013
    DeMotte
    I am wondering how many of you guys use range finders , I dont range est. very well and am wondering how many do use them with rifle or bow a lot ? I have literally used a 100ft tape measure to mark out a hundred yards in the corn field/bean field to make sure of my shot.I am not good with electronic stuff , so I was wondering also which range finder is easiest to use ? and trustworthy ?:ingo:

hammerd13

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Oct 20, 2015
    Hamilton County
    I've got a Leupold RX-2800 TBR and really like it. I found the need, once I started wanting to get accurate dope on my 5.56 service rifle AR and my 6.5 creedmoor bolt action precision rifle. I can easily range targets out to 1000+ yards.

It's handy for a number of things beyond shooting targets...measuring tree/structure heights, golfing or determining angle up/down to an object. It also finds effective shooting range by taking the angle into account. I even find myself using it to set 25/50 yard targets at local range to get my Rimfire Sporter .22lr zero established.

Leupold, Sig, and Vortex are where I'd look for a rangefinder.

Last edited:

Fixer

Expert
    Rating - 96.4%
    26   1   1
    Nov 22, 2009
    Fort Wayne Area
    I picked up a Vortex Ranger 1300. Has a built in angle comp. Bought it for 3D archery a couple years ago. Cross hairs are illuminated so they stand out. Really happy with it so far.

Gabriel

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Jun 3, 2010
    The shore of wonderful Lake Michigan
    I really need to get one, but my coworker always has his when I need it. I need one with built in angle compensation, which most of them seem to have. Every time I start researching them I go down a rabbit hole and can't decide on one... then about six months later I do the same thing.

Tryin'