• ...and so much more!
  • techres

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    27   0   0
    Mar 14, 2008
    I am convinced that the best way to change the political landscape for shooters is to simply get more people shooting. Now, this is not something I came up with first, I got it from Fred and the Appleseed program.

But, I am taking it into my own personal life. The idea is simple, find someone who has never been shooting and has even the smallest spark of interest and offer to take them to the range. Heck, give them the run of the gun closet as it were and let them pick out whatever they fancy.

I have had several interested folks but I was not really "ready" to take complete newbies to the range. That has changed. I have now set aside one day a month (thanks to my wife) to specifically take a new person to the range.

My first shooter is going to be this Saturday (yep, it is the only way to spend my day before NFA day!) and since he has no idea of guns other than playing games on his Playstation I decided to make a webpage to use as an intro:

Invitation to Shoot (includes gun pron)

I think he will go AR and Glock (as much as I can read him as a person).

Anyways, I hope it will go well. My wife's sudden interest in firearms has been very encouraging and today was the second time to the range. (Where, BTW, she shows a propensity to "gut shot" only increasing my fear of her.)

I know this is a full bandwagon that I am joining and not something that is new. But for all of you out there who have not done something like this, remember, anyone who has actually shot a gun and fired is much, much more likely to help us change gun laws for the better or at least avoid the worst of the worst.

Plus, I cannot wait to get a picture of this guy blasting away and give it to his wife who still claims my offer was only accepted due to alcohol and not her husband's interest in actually shooting a "gun"...