• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Brodysho

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 15, 2018
    La Porte
    Hello all. As I'm sure most of you aware, DUI checkpoints were found constitutional by both the SCOTUS and Indiana Supreme Court. See Michigan Department of State Police v. Sitz, 496 U.S. 444 (1990); and State v. Garcia, 500 N.E.2d 159 (Ind. 1986). However, I'm also confident that most of you are aware that some cops like to take their police powers a little too far. Nevertheless, there are ways to flex your rights should the time arise.

First, a disclaimer: I am not a lawyer and this should not be taken as legal advice. Also, DON'T drink and drive. Phone a friend, get an Uber or Lyft, or have a designated sober driver. This post is not aimed at provided intoxicated drivers an escape route. I know I am not the only one to have seen the effects of drunk driving first hand. However, as a volunteer firefighter, drunk driving accidents are some of the most gruesome accidents I have responded to. Rather, this post is for those who wish to exercise their constitutional rights such as the right against unreasonable search and seizures. All it takes is a cop to say they smelled -insert here- and, before you know it, you are handcuffed on the side of the road, helpless, as the police rifle through your vehicle indiscriminately.

Second, DUI checkpoints are normally avoidable because they are published ahead of their scheduled time in order to notify the public. Prevention should always be the first choice and it is best to avoid them altogether if you can. There is no formula for police confrontations and YMMV. Always have a lawyer's number handy and seek their advice.