• ...and so much more!
  • TRW

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 10, 2017
    Jeffersonville
    Hey all,

I am new to hunting. I was wondering if I get some tips on hunting fox. Is handgun hunting fox realistic? What kind of caliber should I be thinking about? How important is camo with fox? Do I need to worry about scent elimination? Fox calls? Should I even be hunting fox as newbie?

I saw some fox yesterday as it was getting dark in Hoosier National Forest that made me get interested in the idea.

In my imagination I just buy a small game license, tramp around the forest in my street clothes with my revolver and blast some fox with a .38 special. However, I'm guessing that's stupid? :)

MRP2003

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 50%
    1   1   0
    Aug 16, 2011
    Greenwood
    I have never hunted fox myself but always thought of fox as more of an animal you would be better off trapping rather than hunting.

Hunting any animal with a pistol makes it at least twice as hard as it does with a rifle. While it can be done, you have to be really good with the pistol and get the animal in much closer than a rifle.

Hopefully if you are going hunting to harvest the meat or the fur, rather than just going to shoot an animal so I would not recommend a 38 but rather a 22 caliber round.

You should get several responses to your post from others who are a lot more experienced with fox

Good luck

yetti462

Master
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    May 18, 2016
    Unglaciated heaven
    Fox are thin skinned. 223, 204 and bigger will blow a large hole in them. The best cal for them is a 17, 22 or 22mag and 12ga with #4shot too. My favorite fox rifle is the 17wsm.
    Camo is needed when hunting in daylight, night hunting not so much. I use all red led scan and scope light for night hunting. As for scent, hunt the wind.