• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • teddy12b

Grandmaster
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    40   0   0
    Nov 25, 2008
    I've got a spring break trip coming up to a house on the outer banks with several families from church. The dads and I have all been talking about getting setup to do a little shoreline fishing at night once the kiddos go to bed. Many years ago, I had done something similar where we bought some cheapo rod/reel combos for like $30 and chucked heavy weights out there with a baited hook just bouncing around in the ocean.

I know I can do exactly what I did the last time and get by. I'm sure I'll be able to catch something that way, but I also know I'm a complete rookie to shoreline fishing and I should listen to anyone with any degree of experience.

If you've got some suggestions BASED ON EXPERIENCE, please throw out some advice.

Htrailblazer

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Aug 13, 2010
    Franklin
    I pretty much did what you did in Hilton Head last year. Only thing I caught was a bunch of baby sharks. They were fun to catch and put up a little bit of fight even. This summer if we go back I plan on doing more of the same.

phatgemi

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Oct 1, 2008
    Metamora, IN
    Shore fishing not that great depending on actual times your are there. Another option for fun fishing is trying the fishing pier if near one. We used to try the one at Kill Devil Hills and had great time. IIRC it was the Avalon Pier. Best bet of course is to go out on boat.

teddy12b

Grandmaster
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    40   0   0
    Nov 25, 2008