• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • bollerman

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 15, 2011
    Ok, I'll admit I'm not an expert. So if your rifle cartridge must be: .357-inch diameter or larger, have a minimum case length of 1.16 inches, and have a maximum case length of 1.8 inches if used on public land What does that leave me for options? .308, .223 (5.56), 7.63mm are all too small. Shotgun slug is too long. What are my options?

I bought an AR a few years back figuring it would be ok for hunting, but I was wrong so I have not used it for that. If I'm going to get a new rifle for hunting, I need to know what to look for. Any help is appreciated.

ru44mag

Master
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Feb 6, 2013
    Ok, I'll admit I'm not an expert. So if your rifle cartridge must be: .357-inch diameter or larger, have a minimum case length of 1.16 inches, and have a maximum case length of 1.8 inches if used on public land What does that leave me for options? .308, .223 (5.56), 7.63mm are all too small. Shotgun slug is too long. What are my options?

I bought an AR a few years back figuring it would be ok for hunting, but I was wrong so I have not used it for that. If I'm going to get a new rifle for hunting, I need to know what to look for. Any help is appreciated.

You have multiple options even for the AR. 450 Bushmaster, 458 Socom, anything within those parameters. There are a bunch of lever gun and single shot rifles in pistol cartridges. 44 mag, 357 mag 45 Long Colt. The DNR has a list of examples. And this just applies to pistol caliber rifles. Shotguns are in a completely different category. Length does not apply. 12 ga, 16ga, 20ga. and I believe even .410. are all legal.

Paul30

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 16, 2012
    What if the Shotgun has a rifled barrel?