Dove hunting...Anyone else going this weekend?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • indiucky

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Getting up early Sunday morning and hunting with a buddy I haven't hunted with in 20 years.....The two young guys we're hunting with I've been hunting opening weekend with them for the past five years.....Getting out the little Spanish sidelock 20 gauge....The year before I had hunted with the younger guy's using an 870 20 gauge lightweight and couldn't hit squat...I always bird hunt with doubles and I don't know if it's in my head or what but I could see the younger guy's were like, "I can't believe he owns a gun shop and is this bad a shot...":laugh::laugh::laugh:

So last year I show up with my little sidelock of Basque goodness and I am slaying them....I mean every time....I hear their three shots and then the dove would come by me and I would get it with one shot....After about 20 minutes of this I look over and see them with their jaws hanging open...I look up and say, "This is very disappointing.....I am wanting to see how well this gun shoots but I can't seem to ever need my second barrel..."

One of the boys jumps up and hops on his ATV...I query, "Where are you going?"

"To get my O/U...":laugh::laugh::laugh:

510picker

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 16, 2017
    Martinsville
    Have fun! I haven’t been dove hunting in years, but if the birds are moving, it is so much fun! I hope you post a photo tomorrow with your limits of doves and the magic shotgun :)

mom45

Momerator
    Staff member