Any clever designs for a fairly solid ground blind out there?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • teddy12b

Grandmaster
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    40   0   0
    Nov 25, 2008
    Where I am at, there are no trees for a tree stand and even if there were I'd still prefer a ground blind. I've been using an old pop up blind for a couple years, and it's always very tight in there if/when I take a kid or another adult. In addition to the small size the blinds are also usually pretty flimsy and are easily blown over in the wide open field I have to set them up in. I'm debating on just getting some 4'x8' sheets of plywood and setting them up in some sort of quick and easy system that pins together. Without getting overly complicated, I want to see if anyone out there has built anything similar to what I'm vaguely talking about. Surely someone else has built some ground blinds that are semi permanent and don't blow over in the wind. I have several ideas in mind, but don't want to reinvent the wheel if i don't have to.

Any suggestions?

Rookie

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Sep 22, 2008
    Kokomo
    How about some camo netting stretched over a PVC frame? Use tent stakes and rope to secure it. Reasonably cheap and light weight.

two70

Master
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    Feb 5, 2016
    Johnson
    It seems like you could easily build a fairly durable blind using some old pallets, some camo netting, and some t-posts if you want something a little more permanent.

patience0830

.22 magician
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 96.6%
    28   1   0