• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • warthog

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    66   0   0
    Feb 12, 2013
    Vigo County
    OK, first off I do a lot of reading. Most of the things I read speak of a hunter looking for some trophy buck. Personally, if I ever am allowed to hunt a deer or anything else, it will be because I want to eat the meat. From my reading, does make much better eating, so IMO I would rather hunt a doe and take it for her meat than shoot a huge buck with a lot of points.

So, there it is, gimme your opinions please.

d.kaufman

Still Here
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    128   0   0
    Mar 9, 2013
    Hobart
    I am not concerned with a trophy buck in the least. I hunt to put meat in the freezer. When i do get a buck i give the antlers to my dog to chew on. She loves them!

2emps0y.jpg

cg21

Master
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   0
    May 5, 2012
    I’m no expert...... if your looking for a challenge / sporting activity I think mature bucks offer that along with meat. Strictly hunting for meat you would think immature deer would be easier targets.

I dont think either is wrong....? Just different views. Wrong is shooting a buck ONLY for antlers I have seen pics of deer laying with just heads cut off. Could be roadkill I suppose...?

phylodog

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    59   0   0
    Mar 7, 2008
    Arcadia
    I’m no expert...... if your looking for a challenge / sporting activity I think mature bucks offer that along with meat. Strictly hunting for meat you would think immature deer would be easier targets.

I dont think either is wrong....? Just different views. Wrong is shooting a buck ONLY for antlers I have seen pics of deer laying with just heads cut off. Could be roadkill I suppose...?