• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ccha8778

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 23, 2019
    The Region
    So this is my first year hunting, and I'm addicted. I've shot two doe thus far and have really enjoyed all aspects of hunting. With rifle season coming to a close, I'm considering buying a muzzleloader for the next season. Any recommendations?

I've seen that newer muzzleloaders can be quite convenient with compacted powered pellets and what not. I've been a long-time rifle and gun owner but don't know all that much about muzzleloaders. I'm doing my research on YouTube, but any rifle or supply recommendations are appreciated!!!

Shootin45super

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Aug 27, 2019
    Bloomington
    Modern, CVA. Sidelock, start with a Lyman great plains rifle and buckle up.
    Love my savage smokeless.
    2700 fps
    VERY ACCURATE
    A true 300 yard muzzle loader
    No cleaning like with black powder rifles
    Had a knight in line which was a great shooter and killed many deer with.
    Have several side locks T/C hawkin and Renegade which works well also.
    What ever you choose,I would skip using pellets and use loose powder, FFF or paradox.
    The Encores are nice also.
    Go inline for sure with shotgun primer and shoot sabots.

Restroyer

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 13, 2015
    SE Indiana
    I hunt with a CVA Wolf. Even during Firearms season I use it over my other rifles. I enjoy shooting it during the off season too. Something to keep in mind on Muzzle Loaders is you need to clean them immediately after you are done shooting. Cannot stress that enough. But I keep mine loaded during the season (just take out the 209 primer when home) and then the next hunting day place the 209 primer back in and ready to go. I do shoot mine off the last hunting day because I don't want to keep it loaded year round due to moisture harming the powder pellets over time.