Join INGunOwners For Free
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Plinker

User Info Menu

Muzzleloader Season

So this is my first year hunting, and I'm addicted. I've shot two doe thus far and have really enjoyed all aspects of hunting. With rifle season coming to a close, I'm considering buying a muzzleloader for the next season. Any recommendations?

I've seen that newer muzzleloaders can be quite convenient with compacted powered pellets and what not. I've been a long-time rifle and gun owner but don't know all that much about muzzleloaders. I'm doing my research on YouTube, but any rifle or supply recommendations are appreciated!!!
    The people shall have a right to bear arms, for the defense of themselves and the State.

Grandmaster DeadeyeChrista'sdad's Avatar

User Info Menu

Modern, CVA. Sidelock, start with a Lyman great plains rifle and buckle up.
    Beto is one of "Those" people that you hope to one day be able to throat punch.

Plinker

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by DeadeyeChrista'sdad View Post
    Modern, CVA. Sidelock, start with a Lyman great plains rifle and buckle up.
    Love my savage smokeless.
    2700 fps
    VERY ACCURATE
    A true 300 yard muzzle loader
    No cleaning like with black powder rifles
    Had a knight in line which was a great shooter and killed many deer with.
    Have several side locks T/C hawkin and Renegade which works well also.
    What ever you choose,I would skip using pellets and use loose powder, FFF or paradox.
    The Encores are nice also.
    Go inline for sure with shotgun primer and shoot sabots.

User Info Menu