Any tips for "live" trapping groundhogs?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • teddy12b

Grandmaster
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    40   0   0
    Nov 25, 2008
    My neighbor and I have a ground hog making holes under some trees of hers. The dirty thing never gives me a clean shot, and conventional trapping is out because she's got lots of cats and critters running around. I've never used a live trap before, but I'd like to in this case because I don't want to harm any of her cats especially. Do any of you have any suggestions of what to put in the live trap that works well for groundhogs? I was thinking about putting it 10' from his hole and throwing lettuce in there, but I'm sure there's a better way to do it than that.

Farmerjon

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 14, 2010
    NorthWest Indiana
    I have had luck using a paper plate slathered in peanut butter and then large marshmallows stuck in the PB. Doesn't seem to attract the cats as bad. Will pull in the possums to. Good luck.

Rookie

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Sep 22, 2008
    Kokomo
    I have a shed that groundhogs like to try to live under. I can't just shoot it whenever I see it because of houses, so I have to get it in a certain area. I'll set out tomatoes and other stuff in the area I need it to be, set up my motion detector, and wait for the alarm. When the alarm goes off, I can see what it is, and shoot it if it's the groundhog.

Hookeye

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Dec 19, 2011
    armpit of the midwest