• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • historian

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 15, 2009
    SD by residency, Hoosier by heart
    I'm really talking myself into a 300 BLK build. I have not, however, ever built a gun. From everyone on the board :ingo:, I should be able to build one in my sleep.:n00b: I don't even know where to start with this project though, and I don't want to drop a ton of cash on it.:spend: I need to know what tools I will need beyond my standard everyday toolbox and what to look for as far as parts go. I know this seems broad, however, as I am a noob, I really don't know. Thanks in advance for the help! :ar15:

jd4320t

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Oct 20, 2009
    South Putnam County
    I'd start with a lower. Figure out how much you want to spend then find the style/design/roll mark/brand you like and go from there. You can build the lower with basic tools. All of mine have either been built at my desk or kitchen table. The upper requires a vise and receiver blocks.

You can do it.

HamsterStyle

Master
    Rating - 100%
    33   0   0
    Jul 27, 2010
    Carthage
    I have done the 4 or 5 lowers I have built with:
    Small hammer
    Set of punches
    Roll of masking tape
    A block of wood
    Needle nose pliers

They have all gone just fine. It would definitely be a little easier with the tool to put in the front takedown detent but it can be done without.

I also say, build the lower, buy the upper to start. Good luck and welcome to an addicting process. :)

MCgrease08

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    37   0   0
    Mar 14, 2013
    Earth
    https://www.indianagunowners.com/fo...me-gunsmiths-i-need-tool-advice-ar-build.html

Not sure how helpful this is, but I started a similar thread for my first build.

Vice and vice block were essential along with roll pin starters. I got a basic drill press vice, since I didn't have a dedicated bench to mount it on.