• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • teddy12b

Grandmaster
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    40   0   0
    Nov 25, 2008
    I've got a Rem 700 308 with a 22" 5r barrel in the magpul hunter stock. All stock from the factory except I put in a Timney, APA LB2 brake, and had some stippling done on the stock. Right now the rifle is accurate enough to fill any practical needs for field or target practice, but I'd really like to get the groups under 1/2" because it drives me a little crazy. Currently my round count is just north of 800rds, all have been Fed GMM 168gr & 175gr with 50 - 60 of the 800rds being hand loads looking for the perfect load.

What all is involved with taking the rifle to a gunsmith and having them swap out a more accurate barrel?

I'm not going to pretend like I'm a Rem 700 mechanic, or that I'd know what's involved. All I know is that I can shoot better than my rifle is showing. I have two other rifles that I can print smaller groups with if/when I need to remind myself I can do better.

I'm throwing myself at the mercy of gunsmithing gurus and asking what can I do to tighten up groups? Any gunsmith recommendations?

avboiler11

Master
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Jun 12, 2011
    New Albany
    Consistent 1/2 MOA five-shot groups from a mass produced, factory barreled rifle using factory match ammunition is not a realistic expectation.

Consistent 1/2 MOA five-shot groups from a mass produced, factory barreled rifle with tuned, precisely-loaded handloads also isn’t realistic...but it can get you closer.

You can always send it to Isaac Frank @ Southern Indiana Precision and have him true the action and hang a cut rifled Hawk Hill barrel on, then feed the rifle a steady diet of 168 ELD-Ms over 44.4-45.8gr Varget (or 175 SMKs or 185gr Juggernauts over a grain or two less)....and you’ll likely be in the ballpark.