• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • sloppyjoe

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Mar 27, 2019
    Brownsburg
    I bought a threaded barrel for my 1911 assuming I could just install a barrel link and run it until I realized that there are different sized barrel links. Anyone on here have experience fitting a new 1911 barrel? Any advice, tips, or tricks?

praff

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Sep 26, 2009
    I have been fitting 1911 barrels for four years and I am still learning new things. There is a LOT going on in a 1911 barrel to achieve proper lockup engagement, angles, unlock timing, link fitment, hood fitment, etc. A drop in barrel is NOT drop in, in my opinion anyway. Way too much going on to be able to say it is going to work. Not only do you rusk malfunctions, but putting an improperly fit barrel in could damage existing parts or even be dangerous.

churchmouse

I still care....Really
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    187   0   0
    Dec 7, 2011
    Speedway area
    I have been fitting 1911 barrels for four years and I am still learning new things. There is a LOT going on in a 1911 barrel to achieve proper lockup engagement, angles, unlock timing, link fitment, hood fitment, etc. A drop in barrel is NOT drop in, in my opinion anyway. Way too much going on to be able to say it is going to work. Not only do you rusk malfunctions, but putting an improperly fit barrel in could damage existing parts or even be dangerous.

Bingo.

drillsgt

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    108   0   0
    Nov 29, 2009
    Sioux Falls, SD

Many 'drop in' barrels do work just fine, that's pretty much what factory 1911 barrels are but then again you are not getting much more above and beyond a factory barrel so I never really saw the point. For beginners the Kart 'ez fit' barrels work great if you don't have access to machinery etc.

praff

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Sep 26, 2009