• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • cjcycles

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Mar 18, 2018
    Ft Wayne
    I thought I would share some of the hassles I’ve experienced with a 15/22.

I purchased a 15/22 MOE version a couple years ago as a back up steel challenge rifle. I’ve been shooing a tactical solutions upper on an AR for several years. Several of my friends I shot with had early models of the 15/22. Every one of them ran flawlessly. They seemed to be less picky than my upper overall.

I hadn’t shot my 15/22 after sighting in until last year. I talked a friend into attending a steel challenge with me last summer. I let him shoot the Tactical Solutions AR with Eotech and I shot the 15/22 in rimfire iron sights. It was awful shooting the 15/22. It jammed at least twice on every stage. Every time brass would be stuck between the bolt and barrel. I didn’t get to diagnose much while clearing the jams on the clock.

A couple weeks ago I started working on the rifle. Searching google for failure to eject produced lots of info on ejectors out of adjustment. I tweaked the ejector and validated alignment with a piece of spent brass. After shooting it again it was doing the same thing with my normal federal auto match ammo. CCI mini mags seemed to run somewhat better but The ejector adjustment had no affect on the issues. I noticed when the failure happened the hammer wasn’t reset. It appeared the bolt wasn’t traveling back with enough force to eject the spent brass and reset the hammer. That was the justification I needed to spend some money on a trigger upgrade. The factory trigger was a far cry from the JP in my primary rifle. I found the brownells geissele rapid fire trigger on sale and ordered it with an assortment of JP Springs.