• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Jeronimo

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Mar 5, 2009
    I’m about to take on a refinish project with my newly acquired ‘75 Winchester M70. I’m a fairly competent woodworker, so I’m not too intimidated by the project. Plus I’ve watched a handful of YouTube videos. The plan is to use a chemical stripper and then sand to ~600gr and finish with Birchwood Casey Tru-oil.

My only hesitation is with the plastic bits at the front of the stock and on the bottom of the rear grip. I worry about the stripper eating away at it, and having to repaint it once I sand everything flush (what kind of paint would be ideal?). I’m also planning on fitting a new recoil pad. Please comment with any tips and recommendations.

e07839547030707f907f99b6689239bc.jpg

854a18c6c800faa9332290fb9533393e.jpg

84b3026dd6d98a4dd10e6c31f6a8b1fc.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:

Bigtanker

Cuddles
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Aug 21, 2012
    Osceola
    I've never done it but Midway USA has some really good videos on this (and many more) subject.

[video=youtube_share;FrQbZNduZL8]http://youtu.be/FrQbZNduZL8[/video]

In YouTube, search Midway USA stock refinishing. It will bring up a plethora of videos like the one above.

traderjoe

Sharpshooter
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Oct 3, 2020
    South Bend area
    The factory Remington finish is rather thick and sanding down to the wood for tru-oil to penetrate will be quite time consuming. I don't like chemical strippers but they are the best way to get the finish off.

sloughfoot

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    26   0   0
    Apr 17, 2008
    Huntertown, IN