• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Truckerman79

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 19, 2008
    McCordsville, IN
    I know there are many factors that go into the decision making process of purchasing a firearm. I am new to the whole thing but have been thinking about this for several months.

I am a big guy, 6'3 235lbs with some decent size mitts, so I could probably handle a larger handgun with no problem. My main purpose for the gun is home protection and having fun shooting at a range.

Eventually I would like to carry one concealed but I would like some additional training before I make that step.

I have a friend at work who knows a helluva lot about guns and hunting and we have talked at length about the different guns he owns. He showed me his .38 special that he keeps in his pick-up and let me hold it.

He told me his favorite gun by far is his 1911 for a mulititude of reasons. He said that I would probably like it as well. We at one time were going to get together to shoot but our schedules got split up.

I've been doing some research on the 1911 and it seems to be a popular gun. What are your opinions on this gun? :popcorn:

Marc

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 16, 2008
    District 6
    it doesnt matter what other people think.

if it looks good to you, feels comfortable in your hands, and shoots the way you like to then its a good gun irregardless of caliber. the caliber of the gun is also personal preference. what works for some doesnt work for others. its all personal preference. hold every gun you can get your hands on before making your decision. my instructor had my wife hitting paper with her eyes closed within about 15 minutes at a range of 20 yds because the pistol comfortable. in her hands and when she shot my glock her shooting was completely different because it wasnt as comfortable for her.

Last edited:

Pami

INGO Mom
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Mar 13, 2008