• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Colinb913

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 15, 2012
    Newburgh
    Disclaimer: This review is a "newb" review of the Kel Tec P3AT. I am brand new to the pistol world, this is my first pistol, and I have only shot a limited number of other handguns to compare to. These are just my thoughts and comments. Take what you are about to read with a grain of salt. Watch your back, 'cus no one else will.

The Kel-Tec P3AT… Where to start? Well, let me give you a little background on the firearm. The P3AT (hereby referred to as the P), is the worlds lightest .380 handgun. Weighing in at a feather weight 8.3 ounces unloaded, this gun is LIGHT! Add about another 2.8 ounces with a loaded mag, that brings the P up to a grand weight of 11.1 ounces. That is still a light gun! Lighter than a can of soda, you will forget this tiny guy is on your person.

IMAG0492.jpg

After shooting about a hundred and fifty rounds down the pipe, I can tell you this much, with the gun being as light as it is, the recoil definitely lets you know that your shooting it. It was bad enough that I didn't want to shoot more than a box in one sitting. The trigger pinches your finger if you aren't careful, but overall, I have a blast shooting this thing. This little guy is loud! About as loud as a 20 gauge. It has a nice bark to it, and people tend to look down range to see what the hell is making all that noise. When they see it is such a tiny pistol, they tend to chuckle.

IMAG0493.jpg

This little guy isn't very fond of cheap ammo. The first box I bought was Remington UMC. 50 rounds, and it fed perfect. No FTE's or FTF's. However, today when I took it out, I made the mistake of buying two boxes of Blazer Steel case (pictured) and it absolutely hates it. Jams every few clips, when you feed this animal, feed it well, and it will treat you well.