• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SlowPlay

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    62   0   0
    Apr 15, 2009
    Lafayette
    I'm thinking a nice single stack 1911 in .40 S&W would be something I could use. No particular need, just kind of a range & play gun. Not looking to spend a fortune on one, but not a cheapo either. I know not many think highly of a .40, but I've been shooting them for 25 years. Last .40 1911 was a Colt, been awhile. Don't have any now. Anyway, any good info on current ones?

Mike Elzinga

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Mar 22, 2008
    NWI
    Proceed with caution. Ive seen some that ran great and some that didn't. STI Trojans had inherent problems for years. It was a known issue with the way the barrels were fitted, some were ok, and some were junk, as mine was. They may have fixed the problem by now but it always left a bad impression with me. Ive seen several Springfields and a Kimber that ran fine however.

partyboy6686

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    95   0   0
    Oct 9, 2011
    Indianapolis
    I shoot USPSA and am seeing more people shoot 40cal 1911's to consolidate calibers. I have heard of the past problems with the STI Trojans but they seem to work fine now.

Dean C.

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Aug 25, 2013
    Westfield
    NO!!! One of my good friends owns and operates a gun shop, he told me that if I ever bought a .40 1911 be prepared to ship it off to a gunsmith to get the damn thing to work. I would stick with 9MM or 45 for a 1911 albeit 38 super is still very viable.

Hoosier45

Snowman
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    143   0   0
    Aug 13, 2009
    Eastbound and down
    I have a Kimber Classic Stainless Target and Kimber Pro Carry both in .40. Both have run fine for me, but I will admit to not having many rounds through either. When I grab a 1911, it is usually a .45.

throttletony

Master
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Jul 11, 2011
    nearby