• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • m82mike

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    18   0   0
    Nov 28, 2009
    Milton,In.
    I am looking at these two pistols as the next step up for my son, he's been using 22s only so far. I would like to get the input from INGO're on which would be the best one to advance his shooting education. NOTE, the pistol will be my property, no "straw man" purchase questions. He can grip both equally well, but I have no experience with either of these handguns. I would like input from INGO'ers with actual experience with each pistol.

mcapo

aka Bandit
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Mar 19, 2016
    East of Hoosier45 - West of T-dogg
    Trigger might be a bit better in the Ruger but both are OK for price. I'm guessing he is looking at primarily plinking use?

Personally, I would consider an SW M&P for not a lot of more money. There are some good prices on the 1.0 model right now with the 2.0 just coming out or take a look at the classified ads, as example - https://www.indianagunowners.com/fo...s/432842-cz-p-07-9mm-gen-2-lnib-ftf-indy.html or

https://www.indianagunowners.com/fo...cealment-extra-mags-apex-dcaek-installed.html

Spend $400 to $500 on a lightly used pistol might get you better quality.

sgreen3

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    51   0   0
    Jan 19, 2011
    Scottsburg,In
    I've shot a few of the SD9 pistols and they shoot well, but the trigger is a little less than desirable. The Ruger American pistol I'm just not a fan of, the one I shot didn't feel that good to me and has some feeding issues.. If you want a S&W just spend another $150 and get a used M&P9 or get a used Gen3 Glock 19 or 17 you'll have a lot more gun for the money and retain some of the purchase value if you ever decide to move it later on.....

Birds Away

ex CZ afficionado.
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    18   0   0
    Aug 29, 2011
    Monticello