• ...and so much more!
  • doddg

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    135   0   1
    May 15, 2017
    Indianapolis
    Hi! I'm a newbie (a week), albeit an old one.
    In the 80s I quit going to the range and gun shows and sold off most everything.
    Recently bought a 38 for the home at Mark's in Westfield and went to Tim's Shooting Gallery also in Westfield to try out a .357 and couple of ones I kept from the 80s.
    B/C of that I'm interested in getting a .22 for target practice, and I sold off the 1/2 dozen I used to have (back when $20-$50 would pick up a plinker.
    I don't know which direction to go:
    get just one really good one (found a S & W for $400)
    get a really used but functional one like I used to do: $100=$150ish
    Get a new Heritage (-$200)
    buy 2 or 3 for variety
    I usually like revolvers for practice.
    I did run across a Rossi Luger style for $200 and a Sig for $290
    I am a SS lover, or at least a nickel coated, but for the price I've had everything inexpensive in my younger days.
    I really don't plan to do much, so instead of buying a revolver and a "luger" style, perhaps just 1 of a better quality.
    I can't help myself, though, when I run across that ugly duckling that noone wants, but shoots well.
    Any input about what brands to stay away from that are inexpensive b/c resale will be terrible compared to more expensive one, like that S&W for $400?

Last edited:
    Rating - 75%
    3   1   0
    Jan 7, 2012
    Porter county
    I have had a Ruger Mark II for a few years and the gun is enjoyable to shoot. Mags for it are readily available, I would consider the new Mark IV as it is much easier to disassemble than its predecessors. I would also look at the M&P 22, or Heritage Rough Rider if you are set on a revolver. Plenty of options out there

doddg

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    135   0   1
    May 15, 2017
    Indianapolis