• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SpartanHD

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 5, 2016
    West Lafayette
    Picked up a 3" S&W 66-4 stainless with box from a local guy(I believe he is a member here too, so if you read this thanks again buddy!!!). I'm super stoked about the gun but it's my first trip into the prelock era. The quality is awesome and I can't wait to shoot it.

Anyways, My friend who is an avid collector, offered me a Lew Horton 24-3 44special without box as a straight up trade. I'm a sucker for large caliber wheel guns and he knows this. Is this a fair trade? I will admit I'm a novice and I don't know much about collector type pieces and would be completely happy holding onto this really cool smith. Any help would be great!! Thank you.

Last edited:

M67

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Jan 15, 2011
    Southernish Indiana
    Depending on what you're into the 66 for, value wise, very fair trade (currently), depending on condition of the 24. Might boil down to which one you want more.

Resell wise the .357 probably would appeal to more people though

oldpink

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 7, 2009
    Farmland
    It sounds as if the .44 Special is particularly appealing to you, but (as already noted above) the .357 will almost certainly have a wider market to other people, so you'll want to keep that in mind should you ever decide to part with either, whatever choice you make.
    Also, .44 Special is a bit more expensive than .357 Magnum and quite a lot more than .38 Special ammo, so you'll want to keep that in mind.
    Naturally, if you can roll your own, the ammo price disparity can be mitigated greatly.

wagyu52

Master
    Rating - 100%
    31   0   0
    Sep 4, 2011
    South of cob corner