• ...and so much more!
  • doddg

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    135   0   1
    May 15, 2017
    Indianapolis
    I have gravitated toward having Smith and Wesson in different calibers/models (except for my tilt-up barrel fascination).
    I am a .22 lover and thought I'd get another and my research has put the S&W M&P Compact above other-like .22s (Ruger SR, Walther PPQ and etc.).
    Of course, I'm a novice and could be wrong, but since I have gone the S&W route b/c they seemed to be the best bang for the buck and I've gotten some stellar prices, and Smith stands behind them.

I have been looking every day for months but this gun does not come up for sale used, it seems. :dunno:
    I almost bought a Ruger SR 22 while waiting, a Bersa .22 just recently, and the Walther 22.
    I even nearly got carried away and bought a Kimber 1911 Stainless Steel .22 just b/c it was drop-dead gorgeous and I love the other 1911 .22 that I have.

I don't know what it is about the .22 but it is easier for me to find good deals on any other caliber.
    Early on (started last May), when I wanted a really good .22 revolver (S&W 617 or Ruger GP100),
    I had to buy new b/c nothing came up used that wasn't nearly new in price, so I bought the Ruger GP100 for $600 at Hoosier Armory (seems to have the best prices on new guns).
    I now wish I'd paid the extra $80 and got the S&W 617 since I have the S&W thing going, :dunno:
    But, I had the Ruger in my hand, and the 617 would have had to have been ordered and I blinked, ha!
    They were in Carmel (selling out of a garage) and have moved to Noblesville to a storefront.
    I haven't been there yet b/c I moved from NE to SE Indy and haven't even been able to go to the range since mid-October. I have bought probably 4-5 guns in that time and haven't been able to go try them out: bummer.