• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Mmccalip

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 10, 2011
    I'm new to the 1911 world and am considering the SA RO Elite Operator in 9mm. Anyone have experience with this firearm?

gregkl

Outlier
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    33   0   0
    Apr 8, 2012
    Bloomington
    Buy what you want, not what we think you should own. I have "sold" no less than (3) 9mm 1911's to people who had never shot one, but were curious enough to want to touch off a few rounds with mine.

Springfield Armory should give me a commission.:)

Mmccalip

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 10, 2011
    Thanks for the advice! Yeah, I’m perfectly fine with it being chambered in 9, just hoping to find someone with experience with that gun.

trophyhunter

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Sep 2, 2008
    South Bend
    I have one and a stainless RO as well and while the fit, finish and accuracy is outstanding on both the stainless RO has a tighter slide to frame fit and same with the barrel and bushing.

I score better with the stainless RO and it gets the nod for accuracy as well plus the rear Bomar style target sight is pretty slick with the front fiber optic. The EL still goes with me to the range every week as my buddy is a lefty and he really loves shooting plates with it otherwise it would be a safe queen.

LCSOSgt11

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 24, 2009
    LaPorte, IN
    The RO Elite series now has the "Black-T" metal finish. A good investment, I should think. I would agree also with the .45 ACP choice in caliber, unless one has literally tons of free 9mm ammunition at their disposal.

Areoflyer09

Master
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Feb 28, 2017
    Indianapolis
    Thanks for the advice! Yeah, I’m perfectly fine with it being chambered in 9, just hoping to find someone with experience with that gun.