• ...and so much more!
  • BigRed

Banned More Than You
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Dec 29, 2017
    1,000 yards out
    I am considering a snubbie in 357 magnum for CC / BUG purposes.

I am leaning towards one of these.... Does anybody have experience with them?

Snapdragon

know-it-all tart
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    36   0   0
    Nov 5, 2013
    NW Indiana
    I have experience with both. It's a toss-up, but I would lean toward the LCR. I find it easier to shoot than any of my J-frames, including my 640.

Hopper

Master
    Rating - 100%
    31   0   0
    Nov 6, 2013
    Hamilton County
    I have some experience with the 640. I more or less turned it into a "Pro Series" gun with an XS Big Dot on the front, and an Apex Spring Kit to smooth our the horrible (HORRIBLE) double action factory trigger.

The extra work I did on the 640 took it from being a mediocre gun to a darned good gun. But I'm with Snap on this one, give the Ruger a try. I don't have any firsthand experience with the LCR, but have heard good things about it. It pains me to say this because I'm definitely a S&W wheelgun fan, but not so much with their J-Frames... FWIW, I no longer own the 640. But boy did it carry nicely.

Last edited:

BehindBlueI's

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Oct 3, 2012
    LCR for me. Lighter for ankle/pocket carry, the grips absorb recoil and fit my hand, and I prefer the cammed LCR trigger over the j-frame offering. The front sight is also very easy to swap out for a high visibility/night sight if you like. The 640 Pro has better sights out of the box, though.

Dean C.

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Aug 25, 2013
    Westfield