• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ratames

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 14, 2012
    First of all, I just want to thank everyone for sharing so much great information in these forums. I just started shooting about 7 years ago and have learned so much just by reading this site. I'm thankful to everyone that contributes. Now that being said...

I recently scratched the itch and bought a new Ruger Security 9. I love the way if feels in my hand, love the way it shoots, so overall love the gun. I just have one minor issue with it and that is when I go to eject a live round, like to unload it, many times the live round will get stuck in the ejection port. Spent cases eject with no problem but I've had this problem with FMJ's as well as JHP's. If I forceably retract the slide it doesn't happen as often but does still occasionally happen. I'm tempted to just file away a little of the metal around the ejection port but don't want to void the warranty. So before I call Ruger and send it in, I thought I would see if anyone else has run into that problem and how y'all handled it.

Have a great day everyone!

Bigtanker

Cuddles
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Aug 21, 2012
    Osceola
    Don't file it.

Pistols are meant to be worked hard. You can't see the slide go back and forth when you shoot. You won't hurt the pistol by racking it vigorously. So just drop the mag, keep the pistol pointed down range or in a safe direction, and rack it good. See if holding the pistol straight up and down or maybe tilted slightly to the right helps.

gglass

Master
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Dec 2, 2008
    ELKHART
    Sounds like a feature not a bug. If it doesn't malfunction under live fire then don't worry about it

^^^ What he said ^^^